≡ Menu
Lakeshore Open Golf Tournament

Golf’s 5th Major” ™
Next Tournament:
Saturday October 5th, 2019

2011 Lakeshore Open Results

What may turn out to be the most exciting Lakeshore Open ever, commenced on Saturday, September 24th, 2011. It was a beautiful day that only had a brief threat of rain. Thankfully the clouds were angry for only a short period.

56 players accepted the challenge to test their game on the most difficult par 3 course in the world.

At the end of first round (18 holes), only 7 strokes separated the top eleven players. Rob Mullaney had a one shot lead 58 (+4) over Matthew Tom 59 (+5). Nearing the end of 27 holes, only a few shots disunited Mullaney, M. Tom, Jason Kirste, Carl Gaglione, Pat Laverty, and Kenny Ebalo. At this point, Philip ‘the Chairman’ Tom was finishing up with a stellar 59 final round to post a 124 (+16). He was the leader in the clubhouse some 45 minutes to an hour before the final group. For a brief moment it looked like that score may hold up. One by one, the leaders were collapsing on the back nine of the Lakeshore. But remember; you are supposed to find difficulty on the back nine of a MAJOR! The inexperience was showing its ugly teeth. Nerves were frayed and dreams were lost. Huge galleries were adding to the soup of the confusion. Everyone was searching frantically for the elusive birdies and pars. They were not to be found for most.

There emerged two exceptions. Pat Laverty, one of the best ball strikers in the area and a veteran of 3 U.S. Senior Opens, was painting a masterpiece. After he ‘aced’ the extremely difficult 6th hole, he went on a terror. He ended up shooting one under on the back nine for a record tying even par 54 to post (+7) for the tournament. With 4 holes remaining only Rob Mullaney could catch him. Rob was also at (+7) and would have to par out to tie. Incredibly, that is exactly what he did to force the first playoff for the jacket in Las Vegas history.

Under Lakeshore tie-breaking format, the golfers will play four holes (1,4,11,18). Their cumulative score will determine the winner.

Both made 3 on the first hole. Rob chipped in out of the high rough on 4 for par to take a two shot lead. This will go down as one of the greatest shots in Lakeshore lore. You would have had to be in the gallery to appreciate the tension and the beauty of that shot. On 11, Rob knocked his tee ball out of bounds and made 5 while Pat bogeyed to keep Rob in the lead as they approached the famed 18th hole. Both proceeded to hit their first tee balls out of bounds and their second tees over the fence. Pat had a good break as his ball stayed in the fence line where he could somehow get a club on it. He then showed why he was there and knocked it down for a bogey. Rob would now have to get down it 2 to continue the event. He did and they took that lonely walk back to the 18th tee for what now is ‘sudden death’. They had a troublesome way fighting through the press corp and the spectators but they finally managed to tee it up again. Pat hit first and proceeded to hit it out of bounds again. Rob laced a feathery pitch into the center of the fairway and it was mostly over except the singing. Rob Mullaney had captured his third Royal Blue Jacket.

Please observe how much more difficult the championship tees (2nd round) were for most of the golfers. Only 5 players played better on the back 18. 23 players made the playing cut this year. An unprecedented 4 players were selected as ‘honorable mention’ and will have their names engraved on the hallowed Lakeshore Trophy. They are: Carl Gaglione, Jason Kirste, Dusty Allen, and Paul Robarts. Congratulations. — Chairman Make-A-Wish Lakeshore Open Golf Tournament Committee

  1. 58+57=115,+7,Rob Mullaney
  2. 61+54=115,+7,Pat Laverty

    65+59=124,+16,Philip Tom

    59+66=125,+17,Matthew Tom

    63+68=131,+23,Carl Gaglione

    60+72=132,+24,Jason Kirste

    64+68=132,+24,Dusty Allen

    61+71=132,+24,Kenny Ebalo

    70+62=132,+24,Paul Robarts

    73+62=135,+27,Josh Vornsand

    61+75=136,+28,Mike O’Donnell

    68+68=136,+28,Chip Madsen

    67+74=141,+33,Todd Muchnick

    65+81=146,+38,Harry Schroeder

    70+78=148,+40,Gary Hagen

    73+75=148,+40,JT Kohert

    63+88=151,+43,Karl Mitchell

    71+82=153,+45,John Sieberg

    69+94=154,+46,Kurt Goldberg

    69+90=159,+51,Jameson Bauman

    73+91=164,+56,Eric Larsen

    72+93=165,+57,Ron Gerahwind

    71+109=180,+72,Jim Green

Next post:

Previous post: